Running and the bottomless pit

I am a runner and I love to run, which has nothing to do with anything apart from the fact that it makes me really hungry. I am always hungry. And that’s both a good and a bad problem to have. For the most part I can tame this hunger by eating at regular intervals and making sure I eat enough protein. Yogurt, nuts, fruit, and cereal (mainly as a vehicle for milk) are all part of my day-to-day life. However, I am always on the lookout for a new, tasty, relatively nutritious and satisfying snack that will tide me over until the next mealtime. My lunch time in particular has been creeping earlier and earlier and I am ashamed to admit that yesterday I ate my lunch at 10:45, which is early even by my standards.

Granola barsI really love this homemade granola bar recipe from Smitten Kitchen. Mainly I love how customizable it is so I can whip up a batch spur-of-the-moment, without having to first go to the store to buy extra ingredients. I generally have something in the house that can go in these bars, and they always work out well. Similarly, these Morning Glory Crumble Muffins are easy to make and taste delicious. I never have coconut oil on hand so I always use melted butter instead. Often I substitute applesauce or yogurt for half of the butter in a muffin recipe, but this one already contained both applesauce AND yogurt so I hated to meddle.

FrollicksYesterday I bought a back of Frollicks Crunchy Chickpeas, and they were surprisingly tasty. Most afternoons I make myself some sort of snack mix that contains any combination of nuts, pretzels, crackers, and dried fruit. The chickpeas added a whole new dimension to my usual snack and this has inspired me to make my own crunchy chickpeas sometime soon.

And finally, I read this article earlier and it made me smile. All my worlds colliding: http://www.runnersworld.com/fridge-wisdom/10-herbs-that-will-help-you-run-better/mint

Leave a Reply

