Grilling – my new found joy

One of the many delights of moving into a house with a yard is that we are now the proud owners of a gas grill. Having never owned a grill before I am obsessed, I grill everything, it’s really fun. Hands down, my greatest grilling success so far is David Lebovitz’s Tandoori Chicken. As David explains in the recipe preamble (yes, I call him David, I’ve made many of his recipes and have read his book.  This means we are on first name terms), this recipe can be customized in numerous ways and is particularly delicious served with a homemade yogurt sauce. I personally like to mix yogurt, mint, lemon, cucumber, salt and pepper and use that.

Veggies-on-Grill-MAINI love the smoky taste of grilled vegetables. When time allows, I thread whatever veggies I have on hand onto skewers (peppers, mushrooms, zucchini, eggplant), brush them with a little olive oil, salt and pepper and grill until cooked to my preference. If I don’t have time for the skewer rigmarole, I simply toss veggies with olive oil, salt and pepper and throw them on foil on the grill.

At least once a week we have salad for dinner and I am always looking for ways to make this seem new and fresh instead of rolling out the same old recipes week after week.  A family favorite is my Mexican chicken (or shrimp, or tofu, or pork) salad. I simply mix my protein of choice with romaine, tomatoes, beans, corn, avocado, jicama, and jalepenos and then toss it all with a cilantro-lime salad dressing or something similar.  This week I decided I would grill the tomatoes, corn and red pepper before adding them to my salad. And what a difference this made. Such a simple change made a tried and true recipe seem new and exciting. I plan on doing something similar with next week’s salad by grilling peaches and steak and adding blue cheese.  I will let you know how it works out.

Leave a Reply

